Can I eat Vinegar on Ignite?

  • I see that malt vinegar is off the list during ignite, but can I have balsamic or red wine vinegar on my salads and greens?

    brianc   by: brianc
  • 1 vote
    Anthony  over 1 year ago by: Anthony

    I was actually curious about this myself because every now and then, I love to have balsamic vinegar on my salad. In researching online, I found this by Dr. Stephen Wangen, a board certified physician specializing in digestive disorders:

    "Other vinegars, such as red wine vinegar, apple cider vinegar, and balsamic vinegar also do not contain gluten. They are not derived from a gluten grain, therefore they never had gluten to begin with.
    The primary exception to all of this is malt vinegar. “Malt” can almost always be assumed to mean “barley malt.” Barley is of course a gluten grain, and malt vinegar is generally not a distilled vinegar. Therefore there is gluten in malt vinegar. "

    So it looks like we are in the clear with balsamic vinegar and red wine vinegar. Enjoy!

    • mythicalgriffons
      mythicalgriffons over 1 year ago

      Apple cider vinegar is called for as part of the dressing for alot of the recipes and pretty sure rice (wine) vinegar is safe too since rice isnt a gluten.

Related Questions

Subscribers (2)

  • Anthony
  • brianc

Categories


DISCLAIMER: This Daily Burn Community is a user forum for discussion purposes only and is not a medical resource. Any content or advice contained herein, should not be substituted for that of your medical professional or for any treatment that may have been prescribed by your doctor. If you suspect that you have a medical problem, we urge you to seek competent medical help.